The Wookiee

Photo 19-02-2016, 9 53 09 PM“The Wookiee” is my implementation of the Uglyface by Tim Escobedo.

It is an oscillation based distortion/fuzz with an envelope control. Complete chaotic noisy madness, just the way I like it.

Most DIY effects are clones of commercially available effects, but the Uglyface is one of the few that is unique to the DIY community. You can’t just buy one, you have to make it. Kinda like a light sabre I guess.

I built this on a PCB from MusicPCB, it was a great quality board that was really easy to work with. I might try more of their stuff.

Once I got the circuit working, I started on the enclosure. The enclosure was an old one full of random holes from previous builds. I had the idea of covering it in fur to make it look like Chewbacca, because it seemed to suit the noises this thing makes.

After drilling the holes I needed, I bought some fake fur from Spotlight and stuck it on with SikaBond Spray Fix. It’s pretty much super glue in a spray can.

Photo 19-02-2016, 3 57 22 PM Photo 19-02-2016, 4 12 57 PM

Then it was just a matter of mounting everything inside.

Photo 19-02-2016, 9 14 18 PM Photo 20-02-2016, 9 55 02 AM

I’m really happy with how it turned out. There’s lots of awesome crazy noises in this box. I’m not getting the laser sounds that some builds seem to get, but I think the nature of the circuit is that it’s pretty random and unpredictable, so I might try some different ICs and cap values and see how that changes things.

Photo 19-02-2016, 9 56 28 PM

