Color Sound Chuck-a-Wah Repair

Years ago, my first guitar teacher gave me this pedal. Years later, when I was a teenager, I foolishly took it apart and cut the circuit board out so that I could use the enclosure for something else – not realising how cool it was! Teenage me spray painted the enclosure black with cheap spray paint. After recently finding it hidden away in the bottom of a cupboard, I got it out and could just make out the text “Intensity” near the knob through the black paint. It has one knob, one toggle switch and a foot-switch. I think it was an Auto-Wah.

I did a bit of research and found that it is a “Color Sound Chuck-a-Wah” made in London from about 1975 to 1977, and they are pretty rare. Man, teenage me was an idiot! So I decided to make up for past atrocities and bring this thing back to life. The first step was to remove the black paint, without stripping the nice blue paint underneath. I carefully did this with a cloth, a soft brush and some nail polish remover. The ugly mat black paint started to come off to reveal a nice vivid blue.

2012-05-03 18.30.05

Once the enclosure was as clean as I could get it, the next step was to revive the circuit board. This would prove to be tricky, because all the wires were cut off so I had no idea where the toggle-switch, foot-switch, pot, battery, inputs or outputs go. I asked the guys at diystompboxes.com and managed to find some photos and a schematic which helped a lot.

ColorSound-ChuckWah ColoursoundChuckawahpage2

 

 

IMG_4092 IMG_4093

Here is the restored and working pedal, completed on the 4th of May 2012:

2012-05-04 00.29.09 2012-05-04 00.29.48

In good condition, these things go for around $500+ on eBay.

Although this is not exactly in original or mint condition, I’m glad I took the time to restore it.

Leave a Reply

