DOD 440 Envelope Filter Clone

IMG_4116Ever since first hearing Jonny Greenwood’s guitar in Paranoid Android, I knew I wanted one of these – before I even knew what it was. After doing a bit of research at thekingofgear.com/jonny, it turns out that Jonny used a Mutronics Mutator on the recording, but live he uses a DOD 440. According to EffectsDatabase.com, the DOD 440 was first made in about 1977 and stopped production in about 1981. I think it was reissued briefly in 1996.

Original versions are hard to come by, and when they do pop up on eBay they are around the $200+ mark. So, in the spirit of DIY, I decided to try and make one myself, just so I could play Paranoid Android all day long.

I found a great vero layout made by reneshelle over at freestompboxes.org based on the schematic at GGG.

DOD 440

The hardest part was tracking down the right optocoupler: the VTL5C4/2. Once I found one, I could start the build. I substituted R12 for a 470kΩ and I used a TL072 for the op-amp.

IMG_4015

When playing at low volumes by yourself, there seems to be a little bit of distortion or noise following the envelope, but this is very quiet and defiantly not noticeable in a band situation.

I use this pedal live, and I used it on my bands second EP, which will be out later this year.

I completed this build in May 2012. Here’s the guts shot:

IMG_4115

In late 2013 DOD re-issued their Overdrive Preamp 250 and the Phasor 201, so I’m kinda hoping that the next one they bring back is the Envelope Filter 440!

One thought on “DOD 440 Envelope Filter Clone

Leave a Reply

